• Fellow Domenick Carmagnola (Morristown, NJ) was sworn in as the 123rd President of the New Jersey Bar Association in May 2021. In the year ahead, he stated that the Association would be dedicated to several issues, key among them helping attorneys emerge from the pandemic with the tools to thrive in their practice and well-being. He also emphasized the Association’s vow to continue the work of its Pandemic Task Force and Commission on Racial Equity in the Law.

  • Fellows Gwynne Wilcox and Dave Prouty have been nominated by President Joe Biden as Members of the National Labor Relations Board. Gwynne Wilcox is a partner at Levy Ratner PC, a New York law firm that specializes in employee rights. She has a distinguished career in labor advocacy, including working as a field attorney for the NLRB in Region 2 (New York) and working as counsel for 1199SEIU United Healthcare Workers East. In addition to her stellar legal career, Ms. Wilcox has taught classes at CUNY Murphy Institute and the Cornell Industrial Labor Relations School in New York.

  • David Prouty is General Counsel of Service Employee International Union (SEIU) Local 32BJ, the largest labor union for property service workers in the country with over 175,000 members. He served as General Counsel of the Major League Baseball Players Association (MLBPA) from 2013 – 2017 and as Chief Labor Counsel of the MLBPA from 2008 – 2013. Prior to June 2008, Mr. Prouty was General Counsel of UNITE HERE. He was the Union Co-Chair of the American Bar Association’s Committee on Practice and Procedure Under the National Labor Relations Act from 2007 – 2010; was a member of the National Labor Relations Board’s Union Advisory Panel from 1997 to 1998; and is a member of the Peggy Browning Fund’s Advisory Board.

  • Fellow Cynthia Sass (Tampa, FL) of the Sass Law Firm has been named Editor-in-Chief for the upcoming supplements to the national treatise, Employment at Will, a State-by-State Survey, published by Bloomberg and the American Bar Association’s Labor and Employment Law Section.

  • Congratulations to Susan Stewart (Toronto, ONT), who will be inducted a Fellow in November, on her installation as President of the National Academy of Arbitrators in May of this year. Fellow Homer LaRue (Columbia, MD) was elevated to President-Elect. Other incoming officers who are Fellows include Joshua Javits (Washington, DC) - Vice President (2nd term) and William Hartsfield (Dallas, TX) - Vice President (1st term).

  • Fellow Ralph Teti was named an Unsung Hero in The Legal Intelligencer’s 2021 Professional Excellence Awards. Mr. Teti, who is a partner at Willig, Williams & Davidson in Philadelphia, PA, was recognized for the hundreds of hours he devoted to coordinating the firm’s election protection efforts during the 2020 presidential election. Considered by his peers as a leading authority on federal and state election law and regulation, Teti also serves as counsel for political candidates, political action committees and related organizations in matters such as campaign finance and election law enforcement. Held annually, The Legal Intelligencer’s Professional Excellence Awards honor lawyers who have left an indelible mark on the legal community in Pennsylvania and beyond. The 2021 honorees were recognized in special editorial sections and at an awards dinner on June 24, 2021 at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel.

  • Fellow Bill Herbert, a Distinguished Lecturer at Hunter College CUNY and Executive Director of the National Center for the Study of Collective Bargaining in Higher Education and the Professions, recently finished co-writing a book chapter titled Geoprivacy, Convenience, and the Pursuit of Anonymity in Digital Cities, which examines the use and misuse of geospatial data, and appears in the new book Urban Informatics, published by Springer (2021). Billl’s co-author is Jerome Dobson, a University of Kansas Geography Professor. A link to the chapter can be found here.
Book chapter abstract: Abstract Cities demand spatial efficiencies that can be achieved only through sharing of information. Current technologies support collection, processing, and dissemination of unprecedented quantities of personal, public, and corporate information. Inherent in this milieu is an inevitable contest among societal efficiency, corporate profits, consumer convenience, personal privacy, and even freedom. The authors examine current trends in technology, data collection, legislation, and public acceptance. They find that without broad specific regulations limiting location data collection and use—including a universal protected right for individuals to pursue anonymity—governments, commercial enterprises, employers, and individuals increasingly will exploit tracking technologies at the expense of geoprivacy. 

  • Fellow Timothy Howlett, a Member at Dickinson Wright PLLC and Leader in their Labor & Employment Practice, has been selected as a member of the Michigan Lawyers Weekly Class of 2021 Hall of Fame. Michigan Lawyers Weekly's Hall of Fame recognizes Michigan legal leaders over the age of 60, or who have practiced for 30 years or more, for their successful careers and valuable contributions to the community. “I am honored to be selected by Michigan Lawyers Weekly as a member of their 2021 Hall of Fame Class. This list is filled with such talented and accomplished attorneys,” said Tim.

  • Fellow Patricia Nemeth, founder of Detroit-based management side labor and employment law firm Nemeth Law, P.C., has also been named to the Class of 2021 Michigan Lawyers Weekly Hall of Fame. Selection to the MLW Hall of Fame considers career accomplishments, contributions to the development of the law in Michigan, support of the bar and the state at large, and efforts to improve the quality of justice in the Wolverine State. A virtual event honoring the recipients was held on April 13.

  • Fellow Patricia Wise was elected by The Ohio Board of Professional Conduct to serve in a one-year term as board chair. Wise has served on the board since 2014 and has chaired the budget and personnel committee. In 2019, she chaired the ad hoc committee that recommended the appointment of Disciplinary Counsel Joseph Caligiuri. Wise is a partner with the Toledo firm Spengler Nathanson, where her practice focuses on labor and employment law.

    The Board of Professional Conduct consists of 28 volunteer members appointed by the justices of the Supreme Court. The Board conducts hearings involving allegations of ethical violations by Ohio lawyers and judges and recommends discipline for professional misconduct. The board also engages in education and outreach activities that promote compliance with legal ethics rules and bring greater transparency to the disciplinary process.

  • Fellows John Kruchko (left) and Don Slesnick (right) played in the College of Labor & Employment Lawyers South Florida tournament and tied for 1st place! They were sorry more Fellows couldn’t join them.

View our photo gallery.